Oct 02, 2022  
SFCC Catalog 2022-2023 
    
SFCC Catalog 2022-2023

Academic Calendar


The Academic Calendar reflects major dates and events in the college community. Last days for all student record transactions are specified for regular 16-week semester, 1st 8-weeks and 2nd 8-week class sessions. Last days for alternative calendar courses (late-starting, online, self-paced and short-term courses) are available in the Registrar’s Office.

SUMMER 2022

Priority Registration Mon., April 11
  New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico, have earned more than 30 credit hours and declared a degree)
Registration begins - open registration for all students Tues., April 12
  Payment or payment arrangements are due by 5 p.m. on the first day of the Summer Semester, Monday, June 6, 2022
   
Memorial Day - college closed Mon., May 30
Juneteenth National Independence Day Observed - college closed June 19
Last day to petition to graduate summer 2022 Fri., June 24
Independence Day Observed - college closed Mon., July 4

8-Week Session

Credit classes begin Mon., June 6
Schedule changes (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., June 6-7
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Fri., June 17
Juneteenth National Independence Day Observed - campus closed Mon., June 20
Independence Day - college closed Mon. July 4
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri. July 15
Last day to withdraw from class(es) Fri., July 15
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., July 25- 30
End of session Sat., July 30
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Aug. 1

First 4-Week Session

Credit classes begin Mon., June 6
Schedule changes (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., June 6-7
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Wed., June 8
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri., June 17
Last day to withdraw from classes Fri., June 17
Juneteenth National Independence Day Observed - campus closed Mon., June 20
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., June 27-July 2
End of session Sat., July, 2
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Tues., July 5

Second 4-Week Session

Independence Day Observed - college closed Mon., July 4
Classes begin Tues., July 5
Schedule changes (drop/add) Tues.-Wed., July 5-6
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Wed., July 7
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri., July 15
Last day to withdraw from classes Fri., July 15
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., July, 25-30
End of session Sat., July 30
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Aug. 1

Registration and payment options are available at www.sfcc.edu 24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays.

FALL 2022

*Priority Registration Mon., April 18
           New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico, have earned more than 30 credit hours and declared a degree)  
Registration begins - open to all students Tues., April 19
           Payment arrangements are due by 5 p.m. on the first day of the Fall Semester, Mon., Aug. 22, 2022.  
Full-time faculty return (limited services available 8 to 10 a.m.) Thurs., Aug. 11
Convocation (services available beginning at 10 a.m. Thurs., Aug. 11
Petition for residency for tuition purposes due Fri., Sept. 2

16-Week Session

 
Classes begin Mon., Aug. 22
Schedule changes (drop/add for 16-week courses) Mon.-Tues., Aug. 22-23
Labor Day - college closed, Saturday, Sept. 3 classes are in session Mon., Sept. 5
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund  Fri., Sept. 9
Priority deadline to Petition to Graduate Fall 2022 Fri., Sept. 9
Last day to change audit/credit status  Fri., Oct. 14
Midterm examinations Mon.-Sat., Oct. 10-15
Midterm grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Oct. 17
Professional Development (no services available) - college closed Fri., Oct. 21
Last day to withdraw from classes (10th week of term) Fri., Oct. 28
*Priority Registration for Spring 2023 Mon., Nov. 7
Registration for Spring 2023  Tues., Nov. 8
Thanksgiving Break - college closed Wedn.,-Sun., Nov. 23-27
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., Dec. 5-10
Commencement Rehearsal at 3:30 p.m. - at Fitness Education Center (graduates are strongly encouraged to attend) - Tentative Thur., Dec 8
End of Session Sat., Dec. 10
Fall Commencement - 10 a.m.  Sat., Dec. 10
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Dec. 12
Winter Break - college closed Mon., Dec. 19-Mon., Jan. 2
SFCC opens Tues., Jan. 3

First 8-Week Session

 
Classes begin Mon., Aug. 22
Schedule changes only (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., Aug. 22-23
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund  Fri., Sept. 2
Labor Day - college closed (Saturday, Sept. 3 classes are in session) Mon., Sept. 5
Priority deadline to Petition to Graduate Fall 2022 Fri., Sept. 9
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri., Sept. 16
Last day to withdraw from class(es) Fri., Sept. 23
Final Examnations (during last week of class) Mon.-Fri., Oct. 10-14
End of Session Fri., Oct. 14
Final Grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Oct. 17

Second 8-Week Session

 
Classes begin Mon., Oct. 17
Schedule changes only (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., Oct. 17-18
Professional Development (no services available) - college closed Fri., Oct. 21
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund  Fri., Oct. 28
Last day to Petition to Graduate and participate in Commencement Ceremony Fri., Nov. 4
*Priority Registration for Spring 2023 begins Mon., Nov. 7
Registration for Spring 2023 Tues., Nov. 8
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri., Nov. 11
Last day to withdraw from class(es) Tues., Nov. 18
Thanksgiving Break - college closed Wed.-Sun., Nov. 23-27
Final Examnations (during last week of class) Mon.-Sat., Dec. 5-10
End of Session Sat., Dec. 10
Fall Commencemet - 10 a.m. Sat. Dec. 10
Final Grades due to Registrar’r Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Dec. 12

Registration and payment options are available at www.sfcc.edu 24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays.

 

 

SPRING 2023

Priority Registration  Mon., Nov. 7
  New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico, have earned more than 30 credit hours and declared a degree)
Registration begins - open registration for all students Tues., Nov. 8
  Payment or payment arrangements are due by 5 p.m. on the first day of classes for the Spring semester, Tues., Jan. 17, 2023  
   
Full-time faculty return (limited services available 8 to 10 a.m.) Thurs., Jan. 5
Convocation-Spring meeting (services available beginning at 10 a.m.)  Thurs., Jan. 5
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day - college closed  Mon., Jan. 16
Petition for residency for tuition purposes Fri., Jan. 27

16-Week Session

 
Credit classes begin Tues., Jan. 17
Schedule changes only (drop/add) Tues.-Wed., Jan. 17-18
Priority deadline to Petition to Graduate Spring 2023 Fri., Feb. 3
Last day to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Fri., Feb. 3
Professional Development (no services available) - college closed Fri., March 3
Last day to change audit/credit status Fri., March 10
Midterm examinations Mon.-Sat., March 6-11
Spring Break - college closed  Mon.-Sun., March 20-26
Midterm grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., March 20
Last day to withdraw from classes (10th week of term) Fri., March 31
Last day to submit petition to graduate to walk in Commencement Ceremony Fri. March 31
Spring Holiday - college closed Fri.-Sun., April 7-9
*Priority Registration for Summer 2023 begins Mon., April 10
Registration for Summer 2023 begins - open for all students Tues., April 11
*Priority Registration for Fall 2023 begins Mon., April 17
Registration for Fall 2023 begins - open to all students Tues., April 18
Final examinations (during last week of class) Mon. - Sat., May 8-13
End of Session Sat., May 13
Commencement Rehearsal (strongly encouraged) 3:30 p.m., Fitness Center - (TENTATIVE) Thurs., May 11
Spring Commencement - 10 a.m. Sat., May 13
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., May 15

First 8-Week Session

 
Classes begin Tues., Jan. 17
Schedule changes only (drop/add) Tues.-Wed., Jan. 17-18
Last day to drop classes without grade and obtain refund Fri., Jan. 27
Priority deadline to Petition to Graduate Spring 2023 Fri., Feb. 3
Last day to change audit/credit classes Fri., Feb. 10
Last day to withdraw from classes Fri., Feb. 17
Professional Development (no services available) - college closed Fri., March 3
Final examinations (during last week of classes) Mon.-Sat., March 6-11
End of Session Sat., March 11
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., March 13

Second 8-Week Session

 
Classes begin Mon., March 13
Schedule Changes only (drop/add) Tues., March 14
Spring Break - college closed  Mon.-Sun., March 20-26
Last day to Petition to Graduate and participate in Commencement Ceremony Fri., March 31
Last day to drop classes without a grade and obtain refund Fri. April 7
Spring holiday - college closed Fri.-Sun, April 7-9
*Priority Registration for Summer 2023 begins Mon., April 10
Registration for Summer 2023 begins - open for all students Tues., April 11
Last day to change audit/credit classes Fri., April 14
*Priority Registration for Fall 2023 begins Mon., April 17
Registration for Fall 2023 begins - open to all students Tues., April 18
Last day to withdraw from classes Fri., April 21
Final examinations (during last week of class) Mon.-Sat., May 8-13
End of Session Sat., May 13
Spring Commencement - 10 a.m. Sat., May 13
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m Mon., May 15

Registration and payment options are available at www.sfcc.edu 24/7, including after-hours, weekends and holidays.