Jul 06, 2020  
SFCC Catalog 2020-2021 
    
SFCC Catalog 2020-2021

Academic Calendar


The Academic Calendar reflects major dates and events in the college community. Deadlines for all student record transactions are specified for regular 16-week semester courses (8-week semester courses in the summer). Deadlines for alternative calendar courses (late-starting, online, self-paced and short-term courses) are posted in the schedule of credit classes and available in the Registrar’s Office.

Summer 2020

Summer 2020 Priority Registration Mon., Apr. 13
  New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours and have declared a degree)
Summer 2020 Registration for NM residents begins Tues., Apr. 14
 

New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico)

Payment arrangements are due by 5:00 p.m. on the first day of the Summer Semester, Monday, June 8, 2020

 
After June 8, payment is due upon registration.  
Memorial Day - college closed Mon., May 25
Open Registration - open to all  Fri., May 29
Deadline to submit a petition to graduate for Summer 2020 Fri., June 26
Independence Day Observed July 3 - college closed

Fri., July 3 - Sun., July 5

Eight-Week Session

Credit classes begin Mon., June 8
Schedule changes (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., June 8-9
Deadline to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Fri., June 19
Deadline to change audit/credit status Fri., July 17
Deadline to withdraw from class(es)  Fri., July 17
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., July 27- Aug. 1
Session ends Sat., Aug. 1
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Aug. 3

First Four-Week Session

Credit classes begin Mon., June 8
Schedule changes (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., June 8-9
Deadline to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Wed., June 10
Deadline to change audit/credit status Fri., June 19
Deadline to withdraw from class(es) Fri., June 19
Final examinations Mon.-Thurs., June 29-July 2
Session ends Thurs., July 2
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., July 6

Second Four-Week Session

Credit classes begin Mon., July 6
Schedule changes (drop/add) Mon.-Tues., July 6-7
Independence Day Observed - college closed Fri., July 3
Deadline to drop without a grade and obtain a refund Wed., July 8
Deadline to change audit/credit status Fri., July 17
Deadline to withdraw from class(es) Fri., July 17
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., July, 27-Aug., 1
Session ends Sat., Aug. 1
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Aug. 3

Registration and payment options are available at www.sfcc.edu 24/7, including weekends and holidays.

Fall 2020

Fall 2020 Priority Registration Mon., Apr. 20
  New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours and have declared a degree)
Fall 2020 Registration begins for NM residents Tues., Apr. 21
 

New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico)

Payment arrangements are due by 5:00 p.m. on the first day of the Fall Semester, Monday, August 24, 2020.

 
After August 24, payment is due upon registration.   
 
Open Registration - open to all Fri., Aug. 14
Full-time faculty return Thurs., Aug. 13
Convocation (services available at 10 a.m. Thurs., Aug. 13
Classes begin Mon., Aug. 24
Schedule changes (drop/add) (16-week courses) Mon.-Tues., Aug. 24-25
Deadline to submit a petition for residency for tuition purposes  Fri., Aug. 28
Deadline to drop first 8-week course(s) without a grade and obtain a refund Fri., Sept. 4
Labor Day - college closed (Sat. classes are in session) Mon., Sept. 7
Deadline to drop without a grade and obtain a refund (16-week courses) Fri., Sept. 11
Deadline to submit a Petition to Graduate for Fall 2020 Fri., Sept. 11
Deadline to change audit/credit status (16-week courses) Fri., Oct. 16
Midterm examinations Mon.-Sat., Oct. 12-17
Midterm grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Oct. 19
Deadline to register for second 8-week courses Tues., Oct. 20
Professional Development (no services available - college closed) Fri., Oct. 23
Deadline to withdraw from class(es) (16-week courses) Fri., Oct. 30
Deadline to drop second 8-week courses without a grade and obtain a refund Fri., Oct. 30
Deadline to submit a Petition to Graduate to walk in Commencement Ceremony  Fri., Nov. 6
Spring 2021 Priority Registration 
New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours taken at SFCC and have declared a degree)
Mon., Nov. 9
Spring 2021 Registration for NM residents begins
New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico)
Tues., Nov. 10
Thanksgiving Break - college closed Thurs.-Sun., Nov. 26-29
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., Dec. 7-12
Commencement Rehearsal at 3:30 p.m. - Fitness Education Center (graduates are strongly encouraged to attend) Thur., Dec 10
Last day faculty advisors are on campus Fri., Dec. 11
Semester ends Sat., Dec. 12
Fall Commencement Sat., Dec. 12
Final grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., Dec. 14
Winter Break - college closed Mon., Dec. 21-Sun., Jan. 3
SFCC opens Mon., Jan. 4

Spring 2021

Spring 2021 Priority Registration  Mon., Nov. 9
  New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours and have declared a degree)
Spring 2021 Registration for NM residents begins Tues., Nov. 10
 

New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico)

Payment arrangements are due by 5:00 p.m. on the first day of the Spring Semester, Tuesday, January 19, 2021.

 
After January 8, payment is due upon registration.   
 
Open Registration - open to all Fri., Jan. 8
Full-time faculty return Thurs., Jan. 7
Spring Convocation for faculty and staff (services available at 10 a.m.)  Thurs., Jan. 7
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day - college closed  Mon., Jan. 18
Credit classes begin Tues., Jan. 19
Schedule changes (drop/add) Tues.-Wed., Jan. 19-20
Deadline to submit a petition for resident for tuition purposes Fri., Jan. 22
Deadline to drop first 8-week course(s) without grade and obtain refund Fri., Jan. 29
Deadline to submit a Petition to Graduate for Spring 2021 Fri., Feb. 5
Deadline to drop without a grade and obtain a refund (16-week courses) Fri., Feb. 5
Professional Development - (no services available - college closed) Fri., March 5
Deadline to change audit/credit status (16-week courses) Fri., March 12
Midterm examinations Mon.-Sat., March 8-13
Midterm grades due to Registrar’s Office by 5 p.m. Mon., March 15
Spring Break (week nine of semester) - college closed Mon.-Sun., March 15-21
Last day to register for second 8-week courses Tues., Mar. 23
Deadline to drop for second 8-week course(s) without a grade and obtain a refund Thurs., April 1
Deadline to submit petition to graduate to walk in Commencement Ceremony Thurs. April 1
Deadline to withdraw from class(es) (16-week courses) Thur., April 1
Spring Holiday - college closed Fri.-Sun., April 2-4

Summer 2021 Priority Registration 
New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours and have declared a degree)

Mon., April 12

Summer 2021 Registration for NM residents begins
New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico)

Tues., April 13

Fall 2021 Priority Registration
New Mexico residents (students who physically reside in New Mexico; have earned more than 30 credit hours and have declared a degree)

Mon., April 19

Fall 2021 Registration for NM residents begins 
New Mexico residents (studens who physically reside in New Mexico)

Tues., April 20
Final examinations Mon.-Sat., May 10-15
Commencement Rehearsal (graduates are strongly encouraged to attend) 3:30 p.m. - Fitness Education Center Thur., May 13
Last day that faculty advisors are on campus Fri., May 14
Semester ends Sat., May 15
Commencement Sat., May 15
Final grades due to Registrar’s office by 5 p.m. Mon., May 17
Memorial Day - college closed Mon., May 31

Late registration into courses that have started is not permitted after the first week of the semester. This does not apply to courses that have not yet started - only courses that are already underway.

NOTE: The college academic calendar does not reflect transaction deadlines for alternate scheduled course offerings.